Flameater

Learn computer programming, for beginners and non-programmers


DGen.exe pushes CPU Utilization to 100%

Since about a month or so ago, my CPU utilization would occasionally reach 100%. Checking the running processes, I would find that a program called DGen.exe would be taking up the CPU resources and pushing the CPU utilization to 100%. Killing the process would bring the CPU utilization back to normal but sooner or later it would spring up again to 100% CPU utilization.

Opening it in the containing folder, DGen.exe was always found to be executing in the Temp directory. Deleting the file from the Temp directory was not fruitful as it would somehow come back again. Searching for ways to remove DGen.exe on the Internet did not produce any effective solution for me.

One day, while tinkering with the program uninstallation utility in CCleaner during my routine housekeeping of removing useless applications, I stumbled across an application called PCDApp. I could not recall ever using it. So I decided to uninstall the PCDApp.

Removing this application also removed what looked like the mother DGen.exe.

Here’s the screenshot of the DGen.exe removal process.

How I removed DGen.exe

Written with StackEdit.



Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.